Urban
Development
Institute

pacific region

Municipal News – District of Mission

January 25, 2001

September 22, 2020

Tree Management Bylaw

Earlier this year the District of Mission Council directed staff to prepare a District-wide Tree Management Bylaw to help manage tree removal and maintain Mission’s tree canopy. Mission’s draft Tree Management Bylaw and the associated report was presented to Council on September 8th.

Staff have now started the public consultation process and are looking for feedback on:

  • Tree coverage objectives;
  • Permit requirements
  • Enforcement, fines, fees and penalties; and
  • General comments

The survey can be found here and will remain open from September 16th to October 16th.

There is a workshop with the Development Liaison Committee to discuss some of these comments on Sept 24th.

Additional comments can be sent to Barry Azevedo at  bazevedo@mission.ca and Barclay Pitkethly (Deputy CAO) at  bpitkethly@mission.ca.

Further questions regarding the proposed tree manage bylaw can be emailed to treemanagement@mission.ca

See here for the Tree Management Bylaw Scenario, which contains a series of scenarios and is intended to illustrate how the bylaw would be applied.


 

May 19, 2020 

District of Mission COVID-19 Alerts, Announcements, Recent Updates found here.

See here for COVID-19 Updates from the District of Mission

May 6th Notice of Waived Public hearing https://www.mission.ca/notice-of-waived-public-hearings-luc18-023-r18-037-r19-016-r19-019-and-r19-039/

May 6th Penalty Date for late payment of property taxes extended 90-days https://www.mission.ca/penalty-date-for-late-payment-of-property-taxes-extended-90-days/

May 4th Council Meeting Highlights May 4th https://www.mission.ca/council-meeting-highlights-may-4-2020/

April 29th District Appoints New Manager of Communications and Public Engagement https://www.mission.ca/district-appoints-new-manager-of-communications-and-public-engagement/

April 6th Council Meeting Highlights https://www.mission.ca/council-meeting-highlights-april-6-2020/

March 24 Spring Cleanup and Household Hazardous Waste Day postponed, Curbside Collection and Recycling Depot Changes announced

March 24 Message from Mayor and Council

March 23 Mission COVID-19 Assessment Centre and Vulnerable Persons Action Team announced, Mission Public Schools playgrounds closed.

March 22 District playgrounds to be closed.March 20Mayor’s Message in March 20th edition of Mission Record

March 20  Parks programs cancelled, Landfill no longer accepting cash and free BC Transit and rear-door loading.

March 18 – Municipal Buildings close to the public

March 17 Leisure Centre and Library close to the public

 

 

Featured Events

UDI Webinar: How to Implement Workplace Diversity Practices

January 14 @ 9:30 am

Join us for the second part of our webinar series featuring expert speaker Wyle Baoween of HRx Technology who specializes in using...

Read More

UDI Webinar: Moving Forward: TransLink and the Future of Metro Vancouver – Kevin Desmond, TransLink CEO

January 18 @ 9:30 am

2020 was a year unlike any other. Like many businesses, TransLink has had to rethink many aspects about how it delivers its services due to...

Read More

UDI Virtual Luncheon: January Forecast 2021 Share:

January 20 @ 12:00 pm

We are excited to announce our most popular event will return in a new virtual format! Our panel of esteemed industry...

Read More
View All

© Copyright 2021 URBAN DEVELOPMENT INSTITUTE