Award Categories

Award for Excellence in...

1. Mixed Use – Low Rise – Up to 6 storeys

A building or building complex containing residential and/or hotel plus one additional use.

2. Mixed Use – High Rise – 7 storeys and above

A building or building complex containing residential and/or hotel plus one additional use.

3. Industrial

Predominantly industrial use. Can include strata.

4. Commercial/Retail/Office

A building or building complex containing retail/commercial and/or office use. Can include strata.

5. Ground Oriented Housing

Can include gentle density such as duplex or townhouse (including stacked), typically 2-3 stories with individual exterior access to each home. This category must have a minimum of 10 homes to qualify.

6. Low Rise Residential

Multi-family building 2-6 storeys that typically caters to the missing middle.

7. Mid Rise Residential

Multi-family building (7-12 storeys).

8. High Rise Residential

Multi-family building (13 storeys or more).

9. Purpose built Market Rental Low Rise

May include ground floor commercial space. Up to 6 storeys.

10. Purpose built Market Rental High Rise

7 storeys and up.

11. Innovation

Any project featuring extraordinary and innovative social, economic and environmental components that go above and beyond any requirements imposed by legislation. May include heritage restoration, creative housing model (e.g. co-living, micro-op, etc.) construction methodology (e.g. mass timber), smart home/office, future - proofing parking infrastructure for EV/autonomous vehicles etc.

12. Non-market Housing

Any multi-family residential project designed in partnership with the private and non-profit sectors, government health authorities and ministries and community groups that provides a residential assisted housing option for the social good. May include low income and/or assisted housing, co-op housing, SRO, student housing, and other alternative housing forms.

13. Seniors Housing

Any building or building complex intended for seniors housing.

14. Community Amenity

Any development project with a public art component that significantly enhances the use of public/private space.

15. Best of the Fraser Valley

Surrey to Chilliwack and Pitt Meadows to Mission, including Harrison.

Any category above

16. Best of the Okanagan

Any category above.

17. Best of Vancouver Island

Any category above.

The following special categories are not open for submission. the winners will be chosen by a separate jury panel.

The Maureen Enser Future Leader Award

An individual under 40 years of age who has best shown leadership, vision and made significant contributions in the last two years which have improved their company, the industry and the municipalities they work in.

Public Practice Award

Any housing or development related public policy, practice, program or person that has made a positive contribution to society and the industry.

Best in Show

The jury will select the most outstanding project from all the category winners.